lloyds rating

Financial Strength Ratings describe the financial security characteristics of the rated entity. Lloyd's currently enjoys an A+ rating from Standard & Poor's, AA- from Fitch and A from A.M. Best.


financial strength rating 

Lloyd’s enjoy a track record of stability, strength and profit.  Therefore, you can be confident that one of the most experienced insurers in the industry is underwriting your policy.

Lloyd’s is rated as a market rather than a single business.  As all Lloyd's policies are ultimately backed by this common security, a single market rating can be applied.

The ratings stated below are independent opinions of Lloyd’s financial strength and ability to meet its ongoing insurance policy and contract obligations. Lloyd's currently enjoys an A+ rating from Standard & Poor's, AA- from Fitch and an A from A.M. Best.

The current Insurer Financial Strength Ratings of the Lloyd's market are as follows:


  • A+

    Standard and Poor’s

    June 2019

  • A

    a.m. best

    July 2019

  • AA-

    fitch ratings

    May 2019


The Standard & Poor's rating scale

(Ratings from "AA" to "CCC" may be modified by the addition of a plus or minus sign to show relative standing within the major rating categories.)



Extremely Strong 


Very Strong










Very Weak


Extremely Weak


Regulatory Action


The rating scale above is in summary form. A full description of this rating scale can be obtained from www.standardandpoors.com.






 common rating questions

Don't let the different ratings confuse you.  It's important to bear in mind that an insurance company’s credit rating is considered an opinion, not a fact, and ratings of the same insurance company can differ among rating agencies.
We've tried to clear up the confustion with some comon customer queries below.

  • Q. What do the ratings mean?
  • The ratings are opinions of independent agencies regarding the financial strength of an insurance company. They’re effectively a credit rating that indicates the insurance company’s ability to meet its financial obligations.  This in turn may act as a good indicator of the insurer's ability to pay policyholders’ claims.

  • Q. what would be considered a good rating?
  • There are six secure ratings from A++ to B+ and 10 vulnerable ratings from B to S, with the lowest indicating rating suspended.

    An insurance company should have the rating of B+ or better to indicate that it is secure in four critical areas: underwriting, expense control, reserve adequacy, and investments.

    The majority of insurance companies have an alphabetical rating of A- (Excellent) or better by AM Best. There are a few companies that fall within the B++ category, but still considered to be excellent by AM Best.  A carrier with an alphabetical rating of B or less is considered by AM Best to be Vulnerable.

  • Q. Why are there different ratings?
  • There are four major insurance company rating agencies: A.M. Best, Fitch, Moody’s, and Standard & Poor’s. Each agency has its own rating scale that doesn’t necessarily equate to another company’s rating scale, even when the ratings appear similar.

  • Q. Why doesn't tinz have a rating?
  • As a coverholder for Lloyds, TINZ benefits from a partnership with Lloyd’s syndicates.  All Lloyd's syndicates benefit from Lloyd's central resources, including Lloyd's excellent brand and ratings, its network of global licences and the Central Fund. The Central Fund is available at the discretion of the Council of Lloyd's to meet any valid claim that cannot be met by the resources of any member. As all Lloyd's policies are ultimately backed by this common security, a single market rating can be applied.

    Prior to launching in New Zealand, TINZ underwent an extensive process to ensure that our systems and people comply with the extremely high standards insisted upon by Lloyd’s.